PACE-EH

Protocol for Assessing Community Excellence in Environmental Health (PACE-EH)

The Protocol for Assessing Community Excellence in Environmental Health (PACE-EH) was developed by the Centers for Diseases Control and Prevention (CDC) and the National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO) to engage and empower communities in identifying and prioritizing the environmental health "stressors" in their respective neighborhoods. 

The PACE-EH program was been successfully implemented in 10 communities across the United States and the South Gate effort will be the first of its kind in California.  In accordance to the protocol,  the South Gate Community Environmental Health Action Team (CEHAT)  was formed from a diverse range of community representatives, including, but not limited community activist, business owners, environmental justice organizations, neighborhood associations, schools, community health centers, civic  groups and faith organizations.  The CEHAT's tasks include collecting and prioritizing the community's environmental health concerns, and developing and carrying out an action plan to address the concerns that were identified by the City of South Gate community members.  Anyone who lines, works, learns and/or plays in this community will enjoy the benefits of this program.  For more information, see PACE-EH Fact Sheet

CEHAT is compromised of up to 20 members and are scheduled to meet on the following dates: 
 
 
  • Monday, January 9, 2017
  • Monday, February 13, 2017
  • Monday, April 10, 2017
  • Monday, May 8, 2017
  • Monday, June 12, 2017
  • Monday, July 10, 2017
  • Monday, August 7, 2017
  • Monday, September 11, 2017
  • Monday, October 16, 2017
  • Monday, November 13, 2017
  • Monday, December 11, 2017
If you would like to get involved or learn more about this program, please contact:
Nancy Palate (Health Educator, CDPH), Tel: (510) 620-5845, Email
Dr. Gabriele Windgasse (Chief, Site Assessment Section, CDPH), Tel: (510) 620-3610, Email
Haydee Becerra (City of South Gate, Management Analyst), Tel: (323) 563-9592, Email